Tags

, , , ,

JOHN D. ALEXANDER Jr.: Make a Chair from a Tree Woodw.

Sometimes you get lucky in life. I’ve been wanting John Alexander’s Make a Chair from a Tree for some time now. I just never was willing to pay the $100 or so everyone wanted for their used copies on Amazon or Half.com. After being out of print for sometime it’s a hard book to find and I know John is offering his DVD for sale but I’d rather own the book.

After browsing eBay tonight, I did a search on the book and low and behold a seller was asking $27.00 for it or Best Offer. I took a chance and offered $20.00 and walla, they accepted.

I’ve heard about this book a few years ago from Welch chairmaker Don Weber as well as posters on woodworking forums. Apparently Don told me that this is the book on chairmaking. I own Drew Langsner’s The Chairmaker’s Workshop and love it. In fact, it was the book I used when building my windsor chairs a few years ago. It’ll be interesting to see how John’s book compares to Drew’s.

Do you own this book? If you do, let me know what you think of it.

