Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Last weekend my wife, Anita, and I got back from the World’s Longest Yard Sale. We started on Thursday and drove to US-127 in Florence, Ky around 9:00am and drove all the way down to Frankfort, KY. We ended up in Frankfort at 8:00pm stopping at nearly every yard sale on the way. Once we got to Frankfort, we hopped on I-64 to South I-75 and headed to our hotel room in Chattanooga, TN.

The next day, we hopped back on US 127 in Chattanooga and headed north. There are tons of yard sales in Tennessee, however a lot of the stops where there were multiple tents were mainly antique dealers selling their stuff. If we wanted to find a real yard sale, we stopped on the side of the road where there were only one or two people selling. That’s where we could find the deals.

We went every day from Thursday through Sunday and we found some good deals along the way. I would have to say that this year’s sale was a little bit thinner than years pasts. I’m not sure if the oppressive heat had anything to do with it, but there were a few stops in Kentucky that we were looking forward to stopping at only to find that no one was set up this year. Nevertheless, I still found some good deals and was happy with my haul.

 photo 20160809_173732.jpg

I bought a handful of bench planes, but I did pick up this little unusual rabbet plane in an antique store in Kentucky. I’ve never seen a rabbet plane like this before, and I haven’t found a maker’s name on it, but I may find out more about when I clean it up.

 photo 20160809_173810.jpg

It appears to be production made as it’s made from cast iron. I’ll have to look in my Martin J Donnelly tool catalogs to see if one is in there.

 photo 20160809_173821.jpg

If anyone knows who made this, leave me a comment. I’d love to know more about it.

 photo 20160809_173830.jpg

Another nice find was this Stanley No 37 Jenny’s Plane. I’ve owned a couple of these in the past and they are considered one of the most collectible transitional Stanley planes (apparently, all the other ones are only worth being burned).

 photo 20160809_173900.jpg

I bought a few lanterns for my booth in an antique mall. I cleaned the glass up with soap and water and they look pretty good. The one in front is a Dietz and the black ones are from Lamplight Farms. I’ll sell them for $20-$35 a piece.

 photo 20160813_142014.jpg

By far the coolest thing I bought wasn’t a tool at all. It was a bankers chair from the Colonial Chair Company. Anita was looking at some ironstone at a ladies yard sale when she had this chair on top of her trailer. The more I looked at it, the more I liked it. I thought it was a cool industrial looking chair with a leather back and metal mechanisms made from cast iron. I offered $30 for the chair and she agreed, so I took it back to the van eager to google the name to see what I just bought.

 photo 20160809_173701.jpg

The back of the chair was riveted and even had lumbar support on the bottom. All the mechanisms worked which helped me decide that I needed to own the chair.

 photo 20160809_173719.jpg

It still had the original label underneath the seat which is how I knew who made it.

 photo 20160809_181223.jpg

I googled the Colonial Chair Company and only found a couple of references to them on the internet. According to this website, they were only in operation from 1915 -1916 which I find very hard to believe considering the size of their factory.

 photo colonial_chair_ad-e1335058766278_2.jpg

Another clue to the age of the chair was the company property tag underneath the seat. It was stamped The Sabin Robbins Paper Co. A quick internet search told me that they were a full service converter company that specialized in purchasing, warehousing, converting and distributing job lot and over run paper. The company was founded in 1884 in Mansfield, OH.  How this chair wound up on this lady’s trailer in Kentucky is anyone’s guess, But I would say she had a family member who used to work there.

 photo 20160809_181218.jpg

I cleaned up the chair with some fine steel wool and the antique oil I make. The leather back has some cracks from age. I’m not sure if I should try to fix them or just leave them be. The chair is probably over a hundred years old, but is still very comfortable to sit in. It’s so nice, we’ll be keeping it for sure.

 photo 20160813_114042.jpg

 

 

