Tags

, , , , ,

This weekend, I’ll be volunteering at the Woodworking in America conference in Covington, Ky. I’m really looking forward to it as I haven’t attended the conference since the very first one in Berea, KY several years back. I have always gone to the Marketplace while it was in town to shop the vendors, but I could never afford to attend any of the seminars. This year the editor of Popular Woodworking magazine, Megan Fitzpatrick, asked me if I would like to volunteer for a day, so I jumped at the chance.

https://i2.wp.com/i1207.photobucket.com/albums/bb475/mvflaim/IMG_20160909_144843.jpg

I’ll be working in one room Friday Sept, 16th doing camera work for the closeups of the presenters so that people in the back of the room can see what is going on. The presenters I’ll be helping are Alf Sharp at 8:30-10:30, for his seminar on “A Simplified French Polish”. Then from 11:00-1:00 with Zachary Dillinger, on “Make and Use a Raamtang”. Finally from 1:30-3:30 with Freddy Roman, on “Federal Embellishment – Inlay, Stringing, Sand and Shading”. I’m really excited about it because these are seminars I would have picked anyway. Now I get a really good seat. Haha.

I’m not sure who I’ll see on Saturday and Sunday, but I’m sure I’ll visit one of Roy Underhill’s classes on Saturday. Roy has been my woodworking hero since 1984 when I was eleven years old. If you are going, stop me and say hello. I’ll have a name badge on. Plus, it would be awesome to meet some of the people who follow my blog.

 photo 20160912_200226.jpg

 

