Tags

, , , , ,

If you’re a follower of Chris Schwarz’s blog The Lost Art Press, then you probably know about the soft wax his daughter sells on Etsy. A few months ago, I was lucky enough to buy a can as she usually sells out within a few hours after Chris tells people more is in stock.

 photo 20161203_143414.jpg

My wife and I are constantly buying old pieces of furniture to resell in her booth. Almost always, the old drawers in dressers stick making them tough to pull in an out. When I heard Chris describe the uses of the soft wax, I was intrigued to see how well it works.

 photo 20161203_143539.jpg

I rubbed the wax on all the runners of the drawers and let it sit. You can see how it glistens the wood at the back of the drawer. After all the runners and bottom of the drawers were waxed, I tested their fit. The wax works perfectly! I highly recommend it.

 photo 20161203_143407.jpg

Now the dresser is in full working order and is much more appealing to any potential buyer. The only word of caution in using the wax is that it has a strong odor. So strong, my wife made me move the dresser to the screened in porch because it was stinking up the dining room. I’m not sure what exactly is in the wax to make it smell the way it does, but it kind of reminds me of a diesel fuel smell. I’ve read that Chris and his daughter are working on a new version with charcoal inside of the formula to cut down on the odor. You may be able to buy their new formula now.

 

