Tags

, , , , , , ,

Some ideas are born in my head, some are inspired by something I see. Scrolling through the internet one night, my wife showed me a picture of a city skyline made with pallet wood. I studied the picture and thought that it would be something fast and simple to make to sell in our booth. The first thing I had to figure out was the overall size of the picture. I measured the hand that was holding the picture and then measured my hand to determine the approximate size of the picture. I took dividers and set them to the size of the hand, then used that distance to step down the length and height of the picture. It was a little under 8 steps for the length and my hand was 5″ long when holding it in the same position as the picture. So, 5 x 8 is 40 with the measurement being a little under 8 steps, I decided the picture was about 3 feet long. Doing the same thing down the height of the picture, I came to a final conclusion that the picture is about 20″ tall  x 36″ long.

 photo 20161217_172708.jpg

The next thing I did was google image search “Cincinnati skyline”. Once I came up with a picture I was satisfied with, I printed and cut out the individual buildings. In the original city skyline above, it appears the artist glued a bunch of pallet wood together and then placed a large template over the whole thing, then traced and cut out the outline with a saber saw. I didn’t want to do that. I wanted my buildings to be an individual piece of pallet wood

 photo IMG_20161217_172635.jpg

My pallet wood was 3 1/2″ wide, so I cut some paper 3 1/2″ wide as well. I then took my dividers and used them to gauge where the details of the building fall within the over design of the building. I then transferred those reference marks onto the piece of paper to draw the building.

 photo 20161218_121434.jpg

Once all my buildings were drawn, I lined them up to where I wanted them to lay for my  city skyline. The final two buildings are the Procter and Gamble buildings that are the same. So for that template, I simply trace around the wood for the first tower, then flip it over and use that side for the second tower.

 photo 20161218_132736.jpg

The next steps are the easy part. I ripped 1/8″ hard board down to 3 1/2″, traced then cut the shapes out on my band saw.

 photo 20161218_133945.jpg

The templates were the important part of the design process, because they will used to draw the final shape of each building when building the city skyline.

 photo 20161218_141118.jpg

Back to the band saw with a 1/8″ scrolling blade and cut out all the buildings. You can see the final buildings on the right are two of the same.

 photo 20161218_144759.jpg

I decided to use 6″ wide siding for the background. I had some scraps from when I was building my shed, so I didn’t have to go out and buy any. For the frame of the picture I used a 2×4 ripped to 1 1/2″ square with a 3/4″ square rabbet cut down one side. I then cut and fitted each piece with 45 degree angles on each end.

 photo 20161220_164817.jpg

Making sure everything fitted well, I test fitted the frame together without glue. I wasn’t too concerned about the expansion and contraction of the wood, because the siding is freshly milled and will more likely shrink a little bit. Once the wood shrinks, it will be able to expand and contract in the tongue and groove joints of the siding.

 photo 20161220_165615.jpg

I then test fitted the buildings in the frame. What’s great about this project is that it is simple to make and doesn’t require any sanding.

 photo 20161220_165850.jpg

My wife then stained each building with different colors of stain. She also painted the background of the siding with black milk paint. The 2×4 frame was brushed with a steel wool and vinegar solution.

 photo 20161222_144540.jpg

After gluing and nailing everything together, the final product is ready for sale. This is more of a craft project than fine woodworking, but it was super easy to make. The most time-consuming part was the design process. Now that it is made, I need to see if someone will buy it and at what price. Stay tuned.

 photo 20161222_164823.jpg

