Tags

, , , , , , ,

Last summer my Dad gave me his old cash register he was storing in his basement for the past thirty years. I was glad to take it, but I had no need for it so, I decided to sell it on Craigslist.

 photo ebay008.jpg

My Dad told me the cash register was handed down from the family as it was used in his uncle’s store. My Grandfather opened up a hardware store back in the ’50’s in Detroit called Flaim Hardware and my Dad would work there as a kid. I originally thought that the register was used in that store, but apparently not. This register is much older than the 1950’s.

 photo ebay014.jpg

I sold it to a guy on Craigslist who restores old cash registers the same way I restore old tools. He asked if I wanted to see pictures of the register as it was being restored and I told him I would love to, so he emailed me them during the process.

 photo PB080017.jpg

He took the entire case apart and cleaned and oiled all the mechanisms so that they would work properly.

 photo PA300015.jpg

Once everything was cleaned and working, he polished the brass case back to original form.

 photo PB140009.jpg

Since he restored many registers before, he had the appropriate parts that were missing off the register. He added the brass bar just above the drawer and a new $.05 key. All the price keys were cleaned inside and shined up nicely.

 photo PB140012.jpg

The entire registered shined back to life and looked better than ever. I’m glad the register found its new home as it’s nice to know there are people out there that can take objects that are just sitting around in people’s homes collecting dust or rotting away and bring them back to life. Much the same way I do with old tools.

 photo PB140013.jpg

